After taking a hiatus we are back with all of your MACHA content. If you’re new to MACHA(Mid-American Collegiate Hockey Association), then let’s get you up to speed. MACHA is an American Collegiate Hockey Association(ACHA), made up of Colleges and Universities in the Midwestern United States.

MACHA is made up of three divisions, Gold, Silver and Bronze. The Gold Division is made up of ten teams, the Silver has thirteen teams in the North and West Conferences, and the bronze division has five teams.

The following colleges and universities make up the divisions today;

Gold Division

Bradley University - Peoria, Illinois
The University of Illinois - Urbana, Illinois
Illinois State University - Normal, Illinois
The University of Iowa - Iowa City, Iowa
Iowa State University - Ames, Iowa
McKendree University - Lebanon, Illinois
The University of Missouri - Columbia, Missouri
Northern Illinois University - Dekalb, Illinois
Saint Louis University - St. Louis, Missouri
Southern Illinois University - Edwardsville - Edwardsville, Illinois

Silver Division

North Conference

Aurora University - Aurora, Illinois
Loyola University - Chicago - Chicago, Illinois
McKendree University - Lebanon, Illinois
University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee - Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Northwestern University - Evanston, Illinois
Robert Morris University - Peoria - Peoria, Illinois

West Conference

Creighton University - Omaha, Nebraska
Dordt College - Sioux Center, Iowa
Missouri State University - Springfield, Missouri
University of Kansas - Lawrence, Kansas
University of Nebraska - Lincoln, Nebraska
University of Wisconsin - Platteville - Platteville, Wisconsin

Bronze Division

Bradley University - Peoria, Illinois
Northern Illinois University - Dekalb, Illinois
Robert Morris University - White - Chicago, Illinois
Southern Illinois University - Edwardsville - Edwardsville, Illinois
Washington University in St. Louis - St. Louis, Missouri
Wheaton College - Wheaton, Illinois

The 2019-20 season saw the following teams take home conference championships.

Gold Division - Iowa University with a 22-0-0-1 record
Silver Division - North - University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee 18-7-1-2 record
Silver Division - West - University of Kansas - 21-7-0-0 record
Bronze Division - Bradley University - 15-12-0-2 record

Recently the MACHA announced that it will be expanding for the 2021 season, and realigning its divisions. The realignment hasn’t been formally announced but we do know that the following ten teams will be playing hockey in the MACHA this year.

Arkansas University
Marian University
University of North Texas
Dallas Baptist University
Air Force
University of Colorado - Colorado Springs
Colorado School of Mines
Montana State University
Northern Arizona University
University of New Mexico
With the addition of the new teams, the MACHA will be among the best leagues in the NCAA and this should continue to ensure that the league stays competitive and helps grow hockey in many non-traditional hockey markets around the country.


Youtube Link: